NEWS

  • April 2, 2017
    Single Act Ticket Kabukiza Theatre (Tokyo) April 2 (Sun) - April 26 (Wed), 2017 ...
  • April 2, 2017
    Time Schedule Kabukiza (Tokyo) 2017 April 2 (Sun) - April 26 (Wed), 2017 ...
  • March 25, 2017
      Kabuki Workshop / Sword-fighting Experience. Vol.1: Dontappo Ever admired the heroes ...
  • March 3, 2017
    Single Act Ticket Kabukiza Theatre (Tokyo)  March 3 (Fri) - March 27 (Mon), 2017 ...
  • March 3, 2017
    Time Schedule Kabukiza (Tokyo) 2017 March 3 (Fri) - March 27 (Mon), 2017 ...
  • more

| Watch a male actor change into a female character right before your eyes!

Watch a male actor change into a female character right before your eyes!

 

In kabuki, all roles, including female ones, are played by male actors. The actors who specialize in female roles are called onnagata (女方 onnagata) and their art lies at the heart of kabuki’s aesthetics.

On March 25th, a special event to commemorate the performance of ‘Hyōen 2017’ “BASARA” will be held at the Kabukiza Gallery.

In the event, Ichikawa Emiya, one of the famous onnagata actors who will be performing in “BASARA” will show you the secrets of the onnagata’s art!

There will be a talk show about ‘Hyōen2017’ “BASARA” and after that, Ichikawa Emiya will transform into an onnagata, right before your eyes! He will put on kabuki makeup, wear the same costume he actually wore on stage last month, and show how he moves on stage! A special exhibition of the costume he will wear in “BASARA” can also be seen in the lobby.

Please don’t miss this special opportunity to see how the actors change into beautiful female characters!  


[Special event of ‘HYOEN2017’”BASARA”]

Turning into an Onnagata


Date: March 25th

Time: 6:30 PM

Tickets: 4,000JPY

Available on line from March 4th!

http://www1.ticket-web-shochiku.com/en/

Location:
Kabukiza gallery (Direct access from Higashi Ginza Station Exit 3)
Kabukiza Tower 5F, 4-12-15 Ginza, Chuo-ku, Tokyo 104-0061

 

 

 


May at Kabukiza Theatre

Area:Tokyo

May 3 (Wed) - May 27 (Sat), 2017 Tokyo

May at Osaka Shochiku-za Theatre

Area:Osaka

May 2 (Tue) - May 26 (Fri), 2017 Osaka

June at Kabukiza Theatre

Area:Tokyo

June 2 (Fri) - June 26 (Mon), 2017 Tokyo

July at Osaka Shochiku-za Theatre

Area:Osaka

July 3 (Mon) - July 27 (Thu), 2017 Osaka